From the Editorial Desk

We take great pleasure in offering the fifth volume of 'Heritage', the Peer reviewed academic journal of Bethune College, Kolkata, for the perusal of our esteemed readers. As the name suggests, this journal represents an attempt to hold up the prestigious and long historical tradition of our college as well as of the nation at large. With contributions ranging from the importance of Tagore and Gandhi as social thinkers and the notion of duty as propounded by Kant, to appreciation of specific literary texts, this multidisciplinary journal contains twenty six articles on topics ranging from Humanities, Social sciences, and the Sciences.

This volume brings together research from faculty members of Bethune College and other colleges and universities in West Bengal and other states, as well as research scholars and post-graduate students. This highlights the importance of active research while being engaged in everyday teaching and evaluation.

We express our gratitude to all scholars and academicians who have contributed to this issue of 'Heritage': Sm. Tanwi Mukhopadhyay, Sm. Kumkum Chattopadhyay, Sm. Saswati Roy, Sm. Kanya Sengupta, Sri Chhandam Chakraborty, Sm. Nivedita Chakraborty, Sm. Surangama Guha Roy, Sm. Soumili Das, Sm. Anushila Hazra Bhattacharya, Sm. Anjali Maisal, Sm. Debarati Das, Sm. Debjani Ghoshal, , Sm. Piyali Gupta, Sm. Samata Biswas, Sm. Ranjana Sharma, Sri Sumanta Mukhopadhyay, Sm. Chaitali Maitra, Sm. Satarupa Bandyopadhyay, Sm. Hiya Roy, Sm. Mandira Chakraborty, Sri Hiroj Kumar Saha, Sm. Arpita Mondal, Sm. Phalguni Bhattacharyya, Sri Amitava Ghosh, Sm. Suchisree Jha, Sm. Amrita Jasu, Sm. Rina Rani Ray, Sm. Alakananda Saha, Sm. Prakrity Chatterjee, Sm. Sritama Mukherjee, Sm. Saswati Laha, Sm. Monalisa Sengupta, Sri Samiran Ghosh, Sm. Nilanjana Bagchi, Sm. Nandita Naskar, Sm. Ajanta Datta and Sri Dipayan Chattopadhyay.

We are grateful to the Principal, Prof. Mamata Ray, for her active support and encouragement in bringing out this volume. We gratefully acknowledge the help offered by the Advisory Board and the Editors. We are thankful to the Government of West Bengal for the financial assistance, without which this publication would not have been possible.

Dípayan Chattopadhyay Debalína Banerjee Executive Editors